May 15, 2013

  • Woohoo my last day- finally

    As I type this.. I have 1hr and 9 minutes left before I can officially say goodbye to my job and the industry that I’ve been working in for the last 5-6 years goodbye.

    Like my OTHER job of working in the bedding industry(where I was working as a casual for 8 years), this is definitely a chapter of my life I’m waving goodbye to and hopefully never coming back.

    In saying that, I have been very fortunate where I’ve been able to grow, learn and get promoted into better positions where I never thought it would have been possible. Hard work does pay off in the end.

    Personally I believe this industry has a very limited lifespan. There are definitely not enough passionate people in the industry that care enough to understand the complexity of the tax that dictates how things need to be done and there are definitely a lot of psychopaths who get employed in this industry.

    I’m not sure as to why that is the case. In the 14 years working (yes I’ve been working since I was 14 and 9mths), I have worked in so many different industries and worked with so many different characters but the people in this industry really takes the cake in employing a lot of the weird, the crazies and the damn right scaries.

    The decision to leave although perplexing wasn’t hard to make. I really hated my last manager who drove me absolutely insane because he was a downright bully and perhaps had a bit of schizophrenia (or something) but when I changed over… I knew after the first day that it wasn’t right. I didn’t feel like I belonged and when my manager who was a GUN left- I knew my tenure here wasn’t tenable. 

    In the end, I had to reflect- especially when my mum became very sick… do I stay working in an industry that I hate and with a bunch of people who don’t make the effort to have a conversation on a daily basis. Each working day is a chore and most days I spend it being somewhat bored but always worried that I’ll be penalized for not doing enough because there is literally nothing to do.

    OR do I leave and find something new to learn and hate life a little less?

     

    So the answer was there…

     

    And now I get to say goodbye and good riddance.

     

    One thing is for sure- I no longer have to make constant trips interstate or overseas.

     

    Thank God for that.

     

    Even after all these years- I still hate flying

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *