May 13, 2013

  • Day 08-30 day challenge

    A moment where you felt most satisfied with your life

     

    I remember as a 17 year old, I was extremely proud of myself for having to sticking it out with Saturday school aka Vietnamese classes from 9-12.30pm

    My parents had enrolled me when I was 5 years old at the Collingwood College as back in the day, it was the only place that was close enough to us. It was a bit of a drive and I’ll always remember being forced to wake up at 7am on a Saturday morning to go to classes. Every Saturday morning without a doubt, I would cry and say “I’m sick Mummie”, it only ever worked once or twice- when I was really in fact sick.

    But regardless, I did make a LOT of friends- none of whom I’ve kept in contact with but there were a lot of good memories.

    At the end of each year, the teachers would pick the best 3 performing students. Several times, I’d get an award for being a top student. I’d always get third, mainly because there were twin sisters who just excelled in Vietnamese. But looking back, they would have too considering they were in fact a year older than me and should have been in the class above me.

    I ended up skipping a year not because I excelled in it but because I could and I wanted to do year 12 Vietnamese for my Year 11 studies. I scored okay during my exams.. 

     

    And to this day, I can still read and write. Obviously speaking the language shouldn’t pose that much of a problem- I probably would have been able to speak it fluently considering my parents are vietnamese but I probably wouldn’t be able to read/write….

     

    so pretty proud of that

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *