Month: March 2013

  • bad luck ensues

    It seems like our family JUST can’t get a break.

    At the beginning of this year, as you all know, my mother was diagnosed with acute leukaemia, then her car (they my dad and uncle had been driving around my aunty to and from the hospital to visit my mum) started having engine issues- $300 just went down the gurgler.

    Not long after, we found out that our 11 year pomeranian had a skin tumor- skin cancer of some kind. The family decision was that we would let the dog live out the rest of his days until- if and when the cancer took hold and he could no longer enjoy life would we put him down…

     

    and today- my dad’s car decided that it too will no longer work. There is something wrong with the gearbox, it takes an awfully long time for it to “rev” up to the specified km’s. The car apparently just made it home. My dad’s pretty shattered considering that it was his pride and joy- probably the one car where he’s taken pretty good care of it. However- this is the year that it’s decided that it no longer wants to co-operate.

    My dad’s made a decision that if it costs anywhere up to 2K or over, then it will go to the scrap heap- being that it’s a 1997 BMW 5 series, it is- pretty old now… it’s done well but heck- it’s failed at the worst of times.

     

    Speaking to my dad before- he’s a broken man. On top of the crappy car no longer wanting to work- lately my mum hasn’t been doing to well, she’s unable to hold down any food and keeps throwing everything up. She was supposed to go home at the beginning of the week, but it looks like she will spend Easter in hospital. 

     

    It seems like, this is a never ending battle of constant bad luck.

    I don’t know how much more we can all take before someone has a crazy mental breakdown.

     

    It is, getting, a little, too much.

     

    Give us a break… please

  • Day 3

    This is my 3rd day of drinking 3L of water…

    and i hit a bit of a hiccup..

    I noticed in my cup a bug floating in the water.

    Which meant that I had to drain out what was left from my bottle (there was about 1/4 left) and the cup.

     

    Felt like i was going to throw up my breakfast…

    its not saying that I wont be drinking my water- just that… argh.. that lifeless bug.. i wonder how long it had been floating in my water bottle..

    and it makes me wonder how it got in there to begin with. argh

     

     

     

  • not a fan

    although, i am personally trying to lose weight myself.

    i find nothing more off putting then watching a bunch of morbidly obese people on tv crying and exercising and crying some more and trying to lose weight on the “biggest loser”

    i think if the tv network’s aim is to get people to not eat their dinners then they’re doing a great job of it.

     

    don’t get me wrong, im all for losing weight and being healthy, nobody wants to be fat. But it’s not something that we as viewers have to watch especially during dinner.

    It’s just as annoying as those pesky telemarketers

     

     

  • 3 kids with 2 different men

    I used to work with someone who ended up leaving her husband (cant remember why) who mind you had put a LOT of her shit. 

    He stuck by her when lots of people abandoned her, she suffered from depression. At one stage admitted into hospital for it…yet he didn’t leave.

    They had a child together.

    Not long after the child was born, they seperated. 

    The divorce papers hadn’t even been signed, she had bunkered down with another man. 9 months later she gave birth.

     

    I always wondered what happened to her ex husband after the dust settled. I know I definitely would be bitter in that situation, especially knowing that you didn’t do anything that terrible or deserving enough to be treated the way that he did.

    Sometimes, it just doesn’t pay to be kind, patient or caring. Sometimes things just get thrown into your face for being a good person.

  • Day 2

    So I roped in my fiance to do the challenges with me. It’s nice knowing that someone else is suffering along with me.

    It’s a hard task drinking 3L of water a day, so I broke it up with a glass of water every half hour. Which is then followed by going to the toilet every 20 or so minutes.

    Going to the toilet often is bad because it makes me look like a lazy employee- hey let’s face it: I am, but people don’t need to know about it.

    It’s so bad that I go to the toilet before I run downstairs to get my lunch ONLY needing to go again after I’ve purchased it and on my return back to the office to eat it. (less than 15 minutes all up)

     

    I’m also doing 2 toilet stops at night. Which is a nuisance but what can I do, bladder is constantly full and bombarded with ridiculous amounts of water.

    But breaking the water up helps, I couldn’t consume all THAT water in one hit (I dont think it’s healthy to do that either)…

    so the aim is to drink a 1.5L of water by the time it hits lunch time, have a 1 hr break and then try to finish the rest of the water by home time (5pm)

    So far I’m doing pretty well….

     

    now i just feel like a bloated water lady

     

     

  • Day 1

    Drinking 2.5Litres of water is hard work.

    My stomach constantly thinks it’s full (which is a good thing) but my bladder doesnt like me. I’ve had to go to the toilet at least once every hour (sometimes a little bit more)

    I’ve gone through phases of drinking water, I’ve always assumed that it’s been lots of water but I guess, unless it can be measured, I’m not sure on my daily consumption. So I brought in a water 1.5L water bottle to help me.

    I have already completed the first bottle of water, and now onto my second one. I feel bloated, not sure if that’s a good thing or not. Not feeling hungry at all! And the thought of consuming soft drinks on top of the committed 2.5L+ puts me off drinking anything together.

     

    The upside of drinking all this water is that my skin is going to thank me in the long run

  • Malaysia F1 race – the winners are all losers

    Image courtesy of www.theage.com.au

     

     

    If you watched yesterday’s Grand Prix held in Sepang, Malaysia, you would have known why Mark Webber (right) looked pretty peeved off.

    Even if you’re not an F1 fan (that’s okay, I forgive you), it doesn’t matter… yesterday’s race was extremely dramatic and emotionally charged. I’m guessing lots of people especially commentators would be discussing this race for some time to come- okay maybe until the next one which is held in China.

     

    Basically the results were this:

    #1 Sebastian Vettel- finished first. He got there ONLY because he defied team orders where they said to the two drivers (Sebastian and Mark are from the same team) that they had to keep their current formation. At the time, Mark Webber was leading the race and had done so for quite some time. The team orders was to “slow” down the cars and keep driving to the finish line with Webber in front, Sebastian coming second.

    Mr. Vettel decided- stuff that. This is the guy who’s very USED to winning and always obviously coming first. So in a very spectacle order, he, who almost wiped out both himself and his team mate decided to take matters into his own hands and over took his “slower” team mate just so that he could come first.

    He apologised to the angry team mate. It still doesn’t cut it in my opinion.

    #2 Mark Webber- he was so ANGRY at his team mate that he clearly didn’t want anything to do with him. We watched on LIVE tv the exchange between where he was repeating a coded message to Vettel.

    Here’s the thing- Mark will always be the #2 driver for Red Bull. I think he knows this, even though Vettel is an arrogant young annoying brat, the truth of the matter is he wins races. So even with stupid antics like this, most of it will go unnoticed. It’s only the media/social media that’s having a sh1t storm about it.

    The other thing is, Mark’s no saint, he’s defied team orders once before just so he could win. But I guess when it’s you that’s on the losing end of the schtick, nobody likes it much.

    Also, a lot of people assume that this year could be Webber’s last year, and if it is (which I don’t think it is), seriously stuff team orders, when Vettel did the dirty move and over took Webber, I would have wiped him out and crashed into him. That would teach Vettel a lesson or two…. and it would be VERY satisfying job to do also (dangerous too)

    #3 Lewis Hamilton- He looked uncomfortable as hell standing on that podium. And it wasn’t because of the conflict between the #1 and #2 drivers. No, basically he KNEW he shouldn’t have been there to begin with. He robbed his team mate (who came 4th) of being number 3. Clearly his team mate had the better and faster car. But somehow Mercedes Petronas stuffed up with their calculations and left Lewis with limited fuel. He was driving so slow where it got to the point of his team mate Nico Rosberg communicating back to the team with “Hey, I need to over take, Hamilton is just too slow” and the team manager barking orders with “No, you stay where you are”. And Rosberg, unlike Vettel didn’t defy orders and stayed behind a slow car in front of him.

     

    Then there’s the interesting discussion on whether or not team management should be dictating how the drivers race. Because clearly the team’s did or in RedBull’s case tried to. Either way, no matter what the team “decision” is, everyone is a loser. They’re a loser for listening- in the case of Webber and Nico Rosberg (he lost big time man). and if Vettel didn’t defy the orders, he would have been a loser because clearly coming second wouldn’t cut it. Hamilton was a loser because winning his podium spot when he knew he clearly didn’t deserve it made him feel teribble.

    The viewers/fans are the biggest losers because we clearly get an orchestrated podium finish which isn’t really satisfying- except when the drivers throw a dummy spit(which they all did) and it makes it fascinating to watch.

    Of course the easy solution would be that “management” should butt out and let the drivers do what they do best, drive the cars. And let the chips fall where they fall.

     

     

  • the small challenges that count

    so part of the 12week challenge is broken up into 3 phases.

    the warm up phase- this starts from 18th of march (which is where i am at)

    the pre season- 15th of april

    and the actual program itself- 13th of May

     

    so the first 2 challenges are up.

    1. give up something small

    2. have your non water intake (basically based on your weight x 30ml)… so i need to drink 2.5litres of water

     

    so if i need to drink that much water, its evident that i’ll be saying goodbye to my beloved soft drink.

    it’s calories i dont need.

     

    2.5L of water. Man- that’s going to be a doozy.

     

    i struggle to go through a 500ml of water. but i must persist. 

     

    I will start this in the morning because it’s like 8.42pm and im about to go to sleep, if i drink 2.5L now, ill never go to sleep, unless i intend to sleep in the toilet.

     

     

     

  • 12 week challenge

    im sick of not being able to lose any weight… because u know, ive done nothing about it.

     

    so the most proactive thing ive done to date was sign up to Michelle Bridges 12 week challenge which actually starts 13th of May, so I have NO excuses….

     

    i dont know if its going to work… but its better than doing nothing at all.

     

    now im just trying to psych myself up to get fit.. i know i need to do something way before the date kicks around…

     

  • 3 days away

    My fiance, the darling that he is has booked us into a very lavish hotel in the city. He understands that I’m not comfortable in going away for the Easter weekend (even though I travel for work- I guess it’s different because work can afford to buy a last minute ticket back to home if I really had to)

     

    Seeing that the Easter long weekend is coming up, where we would usually go away and do something special, this year we just can’t go. I really don’t want to be away somewhere far and not be able to get home in time just in case something happens. I wouldnt be able to enjoy it. I’d spend it fretting.

    So the lovely man decided the next best thing was to spend 3 days away from home, and be pampered. He thinks I need it.

     

    I don’t know where I found this gorgeous man, sometimes he irritates me to no end, but times like this, i realize… this is exactly why im marrying him…. he knows when to spend his money

     

    bahahahaha