January 29, 2013

  • bad apples

    the hospital my mum is at has some terrific doctors and a lot of caring nurses…

    but then you meet a bad apple every now and again.

     

    I’ve met 2 so far.

    There’s a chinese nurse, for whatever reason cannot return a smile. She looks so angry and when she talks, she’s abrupt- borderlining on rude. I dunno if it’s a cultural thing or if she’s just a sour puss in general, but gzz, she makes you feel like crap even if you had a good day.

    And there’s another nurse who’s young-ish and she’s got one hell of an attitude problem. I could ask any nurse in the ward and they’re happy to answer and want to help even if they’re not the one that’s assigned to my mum. But this nurse gets cross if you ask her for anything, even if it’s just directions.

    I think my mum once used the buzzer because she needed someone to cover her PIKK line, and that nurse came in. Her response was “u need to wait for your assigned nurse, i cant help you”.

    Every other nurse would just do it whether they were assigned to the patient or not. Not this one. Why she bothered answering the buzzer is beyond me.

    Why she has to be rude about it is another thing. It’s not like the patient is at fault. Nobody wants to be sick. The patients are tired, scared and helpless.

    At first I thought she was having a bad day, (the one time i intereacted with her), and then soon realized it was just an attitude problem. It was a “not my problem” attitude. If it’s not her patient, it wasn’t her problem. Clearly not a team player.

    I would hate to work with someone like that, let alone being the patient who has to deal with an idiot like that.

    I dont know why this person chose to be in such a profession when TLC is the main point of focus. every other nurse is giving it, not this sourpuss.

     

     

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *